top of page
  • Writer's pictureJudy

February 6, 2022: The Winner Is....

Among children’s book authors, there is no higher honor than to receive the Caldecott or the Newbery Award. These are prestigious awards given annually to children’s book authors and illustrators by the American Library Association. While not the only awards given in children’s book publishing, they are arguably the most important for any writer or illustrator.

This month the newest list of winners was announced and it is so exciting to see such a talented and varied group.

The John Newbery Medal for the most outstanding contribution to children's literature: “The Last Cuentista,” written by Donna Barba Higuera, is the 2022 Newbery Medal winner. The book is published by Levine Querido.

The Randolph Caldecott Medal for the most distinguished American picture book for children: “Watercress,” illustrated by Jason Chin, is the 2022 Caldecott Medal winner. The book was written by Andrea Wang and published by Neal Porter Books, Holiday House.

There is always the argument that a book does not have to win an award to mean something to a reader. That is absolutely true. With the millions of books published every year, there are so many wonderful ones out there that find their way into a reader’s hand and then heart, and no awards adorn their covers.

But looking at the award winners is a great place to start, for both readers and writers.

Congratulation to this year’s Award winners!

16 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All


bottom of page